Why I say “HUH?” or Screamers

Bobby

Seriously she doesn't know what she's talking about...

My children are screamers. I don’t mean the “I’m wet change me” type of screaming. I mean the full on, ear drum piercing, can it in mason jars, and sell it to the Defense Department WMD kind of screaming. David is the biggest offender. Bobby follows closely with MINE MINE MINE screamed at the top of his lungs. It got me to thinking about safe levels of noise pollution, and why I feel like going outside when they start with their daily screaming competition.

Searching the internet I have looked up common noise decibel levels. It’s theorized that someone can be exposed to 85 dBA (decibels) continuously for eight hours without losing hearing, but that is the maximum. Exposure beyond the eight hours could lead to hearing loss! A crying baby screams at roughly 110-130 dBA.

To put this into perspective consider the following common noise levels:

  • 105 dBA – Snow blower
  • 120 dBA – Ambulance
  • 140 dBA – Airplane take-off
  • 110 dBA – Car horn
  • 117 dBA – Football game (stadium)
  • 150 dBA – Firecracker
  • 110 dBA – Chain Saw

So, as you see being exposed to toddler screams is akin to someone running a chainsaw in your house… all… day… long. So! This is why I spend half the evening saying “Huh? What did you say?” to my husband, and turning the T.V. up louder. Of course it’s not to drown out the sound of enraged toddlers put to bed! How could you even think such a thing?!

One thought on “Why I say “HUH?” or Screamers

  1. Bella says:

    What? I can’t hear you becaused I am raising 3 girls who don’t scream…they SCREEEECH. deafness at 40 is a sad sad thing.

    Next time, Blog in Braille, dear friend. 🙂

Leave a Reply

