Grocery Trip 4-3

I had a rare chance to shop without kids today!  Jamie volunteered to watch the boys, and I was able to get some shopping done without toddlers screaming.  I thought I would share what I managed to get done today.  I’ll also post my Walgreen’s trip today in another post.

I have no idea how many people bother to read this stuff, but that’s ok.  I’m doing this really as a visual and lasting reminder about why couponing is worth my time.  There are times when I’m clipping, sorting, filing, plotting, and scheming that I get overwhelmed and wonder if it’s really worth it.

Ok so today’s haul…

Prior to Coupons:  $249.18

After Coupons: $154.75

Savings: $94.39

# of coupons 97

# items bought: 166

Savings of 39%

This was a good trip, although not one of my best ones.  The only meat I bought was sandwich meat, and some hot dogs as my freezer is still stocked from the last big trip.  One of the best buys today was the Green Giant vegetables in sauce/seasoned.  These were $1.75 a bag, and I had $1.00 coupons!  I’m sure I looked slightly insane while I loaded my buggy.  I think I was even cackling a little bit.  Betty Crocker potatoes were on sale as well!  The instant kind were 0.68 per bag, and the au gratin kind were 0.90 a box, and I had $1.00/2 coupons which made those 0.18 per bag, and 0.40 a box respectively!  Yea, that was another cackling moment.  I also found some starbucks coffee 5 0z size that was marked back on the discontinued section for 0.45 a bag.  The other big buy was Pillsbury biscuits.  The small 5 biscuit tins were 0.65 and I had $1.00/2 coupons which made these 0.15 per can.  Sounds like a great breakfast to me!

Pictures of my loot are below!

Leave a Reply

